Archive | Chapter 8

RSS feed for this section

Baghawat Geeta, Class 117: Chapter 8 Summary

Swamiji provided a summary of the chapter today. He said this chapter is in the middle section of the Gita. The middle section is from Chapter 7 through chapter 12. Here one of the sadhanas highlighted is Upasana. Upasana is discussed all the way up to chapter 12. It is an important sadhana. It is […]

Baghawat Geeta, Class 116: Chapter 8, Verses 23 to 28

Shloka # 22: पुरुषः स परः पार्थ भक्त्या लभ्यस्त्वनन्यया। यस्यान्तःस्थानि भूतानि येन सर्वमिदं ततम्।।8.22।।  The supreme Spirit, O Arjuna! may be won by means of unswerving devotion-the Spirit in whom all beings dwell and by whom all this is pervaded. Continuing his teaching Swamiji said, Sri Krishna made a comparative and contrasting study of two […]

Bhagawat Geeta, Class 115: Chapter 8, Verses 18 to 22

Greetings All, अव्यक्ताद्व्यक्तयः सर्वाः प्रभवन्त्यहरागमे। रात्र्यागमे प्रलीयन्ते तत्रैवाव्यक्तसंज्ञके।।8.18।। At break of day, all individuals are born of the Unmanifest; when night falls, they are dissolved in the same Unmanifest. Continuing his teaching Swamiji said, from shloka # 15 to shloka # 22, Sri Krishna is comparing two forms of human goals. One attainable through karma […]

Bhawat Geeta Class 114: Chapter 8, Verses 12 to 18

Shloka # 12: सर्वद्वाराणि संयम्य मनो हृदि निरुध्य च। मूर्ध्न्याधायात्मनः प्राणमास्थितो योगधारणाम्।।8.12।। Controlling all gateways of the senses, confining the mind in the heart, fixing the life breath in the crown and intent on the maintenance of Yoga. Continuing his teaching Swamiji said, from shloka # 6 onwards, of chapter # 8, Sri Krishna has […]

Bhagawat Geeta, Class 113 : Chapter 8, Verses 8 to 12

Shloka # 8: अभ्यासयोगयुक्तेन चेतसा नान्यगामिना। परमं पुरुषं दिव्यं याति पार्थानुचिन्तयन्।।8.8।। O Arjuna! Steadily thinking with an unswerving mind, disciplined in the yoga of repeated practice, one proceeds to the supreme, divine Spirit. Continuing his teaching Swamiji said, Sri Krishna answering the seventh question of Arjuna, from the fifth shloka onwards, is dealing with topic […]

Bhgawat Geeta Class 112, Chapter 8: Verses 5 to 8

Shloka # 5: अन्तकाले च मामेव स्मरन्मुक्त्वा कलेवरम्। यः प्रयाति स मद्भावं याति नास्त्यत्र संशयः।।8.5।। At the end, whoso departs giving up his body, and remembering Me alone, proceeds to My status; of this there is no doubt. Continuing his teaching Swamiji said, based upon the last two shlokas of chapter 7 Arjuna raises his […]

Baghawat Geeta, Class 111: Chapter 8, Verses 1 to 5

Starting chapter 8, Swamiji said, this chapter is primarily based upon the last two shlokas of chapter 7. In Chapter 7, in the last two shlokas, Sri Krishna introduced some technical terms without explaining them. They were: Karma, Brahma, Adhyatmam, Adhibhutam, Adhidaivam, and Adhiyajnam. He also mentioned remembering god at the time of death. The […]