Tatireya Upanishads, Class 12


Greetings All,

Chapter # 1, Anuvakaha # 6, Shloka # 1:

Here in this space within the heart resides the intelligent, imperishable, effulgent “Purusa” or “Entity”. Between the palates, that which hangs like a nipple (the uvula), that is the birthplace of Indira, where the root of hair is made to part, opening the skull in the center.

Continuing his teaching of the Upanishad, Swami Paramarthananda said we are concluding this anuvaka six. In this anuvaka we were getting the details of the Hiranyagarbha Upasana. Hiranyagarbha represents Samashti Sukshma Sharira Chaitanyam.  Hiranayagarbha has two main organs and they are Prana and Mind. Very often Hiranyagarbha is represented as the Total Mind or Total Prana. It is then called Ahamgraha.

In this upasana god is visualized on myself. The Upanishad says this upasana bestows two phalams. They are:

  • If performed as nishkama karma then spiritual growth occurs. Through this upasana purity, focus and expansion of mind occurs.
  • If performed as sakama karma one obtains Brahma Loka. This, however, occurs only after death.

How is Brahma Loka reached? Jiva at death withdraws into Hridayam. From there, via Shukla Gathi (Indra Yoni), a bright path, Jiva travels through Sushumna Nadi and then through the head (Brahma Randhra). It continues through the solar disc to Brahma Loka.

Chapter # 1, Anuvakaha # 6, Shloka # 2:

With the word Bhu, he stands in fire; in the air in the shape of Bhuvaha; as Suvaha in the sun; in the Brahman as Mahaha. He obtains self-effulgence. He obtains Lordship over minds. He becomes the Lord of speech, lord of the eyes, lord of the ears and lord of knowledge. Then he becomes this Brahman whose body is space, whose nature is truth, who sports in dynamic life Prana, whose mind is bliss, who is full of peace, who is immortal. Thus, Oh descendant of the ancient yoga culture, meditate.

This shloka tells us what happens to a Hiranyagarbha Upasaka after death. The Upasaka has practiced Hiranyagarbha upasana with Vyahrithi upasana. Both are performed together. Thus, the upasaka has performed Hiranyagarbha upasana as well as upasana of other Devatas. All devatas (anga’s) are a part of Hiranyagarbha, the total, also known as Angi. He will become one with all devatas as well. In this process at the merger first occurs with anga devatas and later with angi devata as well.

Thus, first merger is of the seeker as Bhu with Agni, then of seeker as Bhuvah with Vayu, then of seeker as Suvaha with Surya, then of seeker as Mahaha with Hiranyagarbha. Brahman in the shloka means Saguna Hiranyagarbha.

After merger, the sadhaka attains sovereignty over 14 Lokas, as Brahma Loka is the highest Loka. He is now lord of all individual minds. He is also lord of speech and karmendriyas (speech, eyes, ears, tongue and knowledge). Varuna Devata presides over speech. Additionally, Hiranyagarbha has akasha; as such he has lordship over space as well. Since Hiranyagarbha is shown as saguna Brahman, his body consists of both visible and invisible bodies (sthula and sukshma shariras).

In shloka Sat means visible universe. Prana-ramam means Total Prana. Hiranyagarbha also controls Total Prana. Thus, Sadhaka enjoys the ananda through every mind. Why does he not get dukha is a question that can come up. Hiranyagarbha is total punyam hence he gets only sukham. Hiranayagarbha is also total peace and prosperity. Such a Hiranyagarbha the Sadhaka obtains through this upsana.

In Shloka, the words Prachin Prayoga means: O student you who are eligible to receive this ancient wisdom.

Chapter # 1, Anuvakaha # 7, Shloka # 1:

The earth, the sky, the interspace (antariksham), the heaven, the main quarters, the intermediate quarters; the fire, the air, the sun, the moon and the stars; the waters, the herbs, the forest trees, the space and Atman, so far regarding all living creatures and then come regarding the Soul (adhyatmam) ,the prana, the vyana, the apana, the udana and the samana; the eyes, the ears, the mind, the speech and the touch; the skin, the flesh, the muscles, the bones and the marrow. After analyzing and determining these, the seer said, “All this is panktam or five fold or pentadic. The one set of five fold grouping sustains the other pentadic grouping.”

With previous shloka anuvakaha 6 is complete. With this, the three upasanas of Samshito, Vyahrithi and Hiranyagarbha are all complete. This section deals with a fourth upasana called Pankta Brahma Upasana. Here too the upasana is taking us to Jivatma paramatma aikyam. Here again we are practicing the visualization of macrocosm in the microcosm.

This creation (macro) is divided into three groups. Each is called Panktam or Pankta-trayam. Why call it panktam? Panktam means group of five numbers. Thus, here we have 3 groups with five members in each adding up a total of 15 members. These 15 members constitute the creation.

Individual creation (micro) is also divided into three groups. Here too each group has five members and thus total of 15 members are present at the micro level as well.

In this upasana, Samashti Pankta-Trayam (macro) are visualized on Vyashti Pankta Trayam (micro).

This is the reason it is called Pankta Brahma Upasana.

The members of each group are now listed.

At macro or samashti level:

  1. Loka Panktam consisting of: Earth, interspace, heaven, four directions (NSEW) and four intermediary directions (such as NE, SW etc)
  2. Dev Panktam consisting of: Fire, Air, Sun, Moon and Stars.
  3. Bhuta Panktam consisting of: Water, Herbs (small plants), Trees, Space and Virat. In the shloka atma means everything else mentioned in creation or Virat.

At the micro or Vyashti level:

  1. Vayu panktam consisting of: Prana, Vyana, Apana, Udhana and Samana.
  2. Indriya Panktam consisting of: Eyes, Ears, Mind, speech and organ of touch.
  3. Dhatu Panktam consisting of: Skin, flesh, muscle, bone and marrow.

Thus, we have total six panktams.

A Vedic rishi prescribed these six panktams. The whole creation is nothing other than these panktams. So visualize Samashti panktam via Vyashti Panktams. Through this visualization of totality, one gets strengthened. Just as an individual gets courage through family, or a family gets courage from their tribe, you too strengthen your self by invoking God in You.

This upasana is called pankta upasana. It can also be performed either as Nishkama karma or Sakama karma. When performed as nishkama upasana one gets chitta shuddhi. When performed as sakama karma upasana one gets Brahma loka.

With Best Wishes,


Ram Ramaswamy