Archive | Bhagawad Gita

RSS feed for this section

Class notes and other documents related to Bagwat Gita


Bhagwat Geeta, Class 144 – Chapter 11 Viśva Roopa Darshana Yogaha, Verses 14 to 18

For viśvarũpa darshanam in addition to regular eye, we need a special attitude which is born out of study of scriptures as well as a prepared mind.  Without the prepared mind, we can see viśva but it will not be seen as viśvarũpa Eeswara.  Knowledge, cognitive factors, and a pure mind all required for viśvarũpa […]

Bhagwat Geeta, Class 143 – Chapter 11 Viśva Roopa Darshana Yogaha, Verses 7 to 13

Lowkiga sakshu (presence of lord) and divya sakshu (prepared mind) are both needed for Eeswara darshanam. Divya sakshu is a refined mind and not a physical mind.  Eeswara darshanam is possible only when both lowkiga sakshu and divya sakshu are present.  Lord’s universal form is available for everyone, but not everyone gets the same impact […]

Bhagwat Geeta, Class 142 – Chapter 11 Viśva Roopa Darshana Yogaha, Verses 4 to 6

Scriptures and puranas describe the vision of Eeswara darshanam as a thrilling and fulfilling experience.  Any experience involves two things.  One if the object of experience which should be available.  It is not enough that the object of experience is available, we require a subject of experience is also available.  Object of experience should be […]

Bhagwat Geeta, Class 141 – Chapter 11 Viśva Roopa Darshana Yogaha, Verses 1 to 3

The word Yogaha at the end of every topic means a topic.  viśva roopa darshana means the vision of the Lord as viśva roopa, which is the name of the Lord.  Viśva roopam means the lord whose form is nothing but the very universe itself.  How can one have darshana of the lord in the […]

Three Gunas

Bhagwat Gita Three Gunas to Monitor One’s Spiritual Progress In Chapter 14 of Bhagwat Gita, Lord Krishna defines and describes the three gunas: Sattvic, Rajas and Tamas. In subsequent chapters, Lord Krishna classifies many of our daily actions and sadhanas into these three types. Swami Paramarthananda has translated Bhagwat Gita for use by his students. […]

Bhagawad Gita Summary Class Notes

Bhagavad Gita Chapters Chapter 1: The Yoga of Arjuna’s Dejection (arjuna-viṣāda-yoga) Chapter 2: The Yoga of Analysis (sāṅkhya-yoga) Chapter 3: The Yoga of Action (karma-yoga) Chapter 4: The Yoga of Knowledge (jñāna- karma-sannyāsa-yoga) Chapter 5: The Yoga of Renunciation (sannyāsa-yoga) Chapter 6: The Yoga of Meditation (dhyana-yoga) Chapter 7: The Yoga of Wisdom (jñāna-vijnana-yoga) Chapter […]

Chapter 3: The Yoga of Action (karma-yoga)

In the second chapter Lord Krishna taught karma yoga and Jñāna yoga, focusing more on Jñāna yoga.  Lord Krishna begins second chapter with Jñāna yoga and concludes the second chapter with sthira pragya.  In between the two, he discusses karma and asks Arjuna to do his karma, which is to fight the Mahabharata war.  Lord […]

Chapter 2: The Yoga of Analysis (sāṅkhya-yoga)

The actual teaching of Bhagavad Gita starts at Chapter 2 verse 11 and continues through Chapter 18 verse 66. Verses 1 to 10:  Arjuna’s saranakathi (surrender):  Attachment leads to sorrow.  When I am attached to something, I never want to lose it.  Samsara leads to raga (attachment), soga (sorrow) and mogaha (inability to decide between […]

Chapter 1: The Yoga of Arjuna’s Dejection (arjuna-viṣāda-yoga)

Factors for healthy life Objective Factors: Hygienic surrounding.Subjective Factors: My body should be strong enough to withstand challenges; extend this to mental health as wellIf any mind is sufficiently strong psychological disturbances like anger, jealousy etc.  will occur less.Intensity will also be lessThe duration will also be lessAfter effects will also be less Bhagavad Gita’s […]

Bhagavad Gita Summary

In these sections, I am reproducing my notes from classes that were given by Swami Paramarthananda as stand alone summary of Bhagavad Gita at Sanskrit College. These are the same classes that the students of Vedantic Study Group, Hindu Temple of Greater Chicago listened to online, starting in 2021. Please note that these notes are […]

%d bloggers like this: