Archive | Other

RSS feed for this section

Sadhana Sadhushta Sambandhi

Scriptures (and Swamiji) frequently emphasize that to acquire vedic knowledge, one should have sadhana sadhusta sambandhi or improve up on four requirements.  I am writing this post for easier recollection. Swamiji introduces the concept of sadhanasadhustasambandhi in TatvaBodha class and calls them as four “D’s”.  Swamiji elaborates this concept in other classes as well.  The […]

Vyragyam – Detachment

Tattva Bodha defines Vyragyam as desirelessness for  the pleasures of this world and the other upper worlds. Put it in another way, it is discriminating the REAL from the UNREAL and renouncing the Unreal and adopting the Real . In KATHOPANISHAD’S language, it is rejecting the “PREYAS” and electing the “SREYAS“ Bharthruhari, a great SAGE […]


Dharma is a unique Vedic statement with immense hidden meaning.  The word Dharm is derived from the root Dhru – which means that supports, protects, sustains, holds,  – “Dhrayathe yat dharmaha”. Dharma is that principal which protects sustains the cosmic law and order.  There is no single equivalent English word, which justifies the full and […]

Symbology of Nataraja

This is a power point presentation based on the book “Rambles in Vedanta” by Rajam Iyer, published in 1946.  In his book, Shri Rajam Iyer shows how Nataraja is represented by vedantic philosophy and indirectly, gives guidance on how saguna brahman is connected to nirguna brahman.  Download links are below the power point presentation. PDF […]


Scriptures point out that human beings have 4 possible destinations. Rebirth—(PUNAR JANMA):  As a result of fructification of Sanchitha  karma ,beings attain suitable bodies.This cycle continues for most people until their Sanchita Karma is exhausted.This is possible only with attainment of Self Knowledge. Attainment of Swarga.(PARA LOKA PRAPTHI): Some people believe that attainment of celestial pleasures in Swarga is freedom.  Sastras do talk about these to those who […]