Prasna Upanishad, Class 19


Greetings All,

Swamiji continued his talks on Chapter 5 of Prasna Upanishad.

In this chapter, Question 5, student Satyakama asked about Omkara Upasana that leads to Krama Mukthi. This chapter is also under Vedanta, as Omkara Upasana indirectly leads to Moksha. Other types of Upasana are not part of Vedanta as they provide benefits only in this world and not Moksha.

Shloka # 2:
The teacher introduces glory of Omakara. It stands for Param and Aparam Brahman. It is a symbol for Param and Aparam Brahman. A person who wants to reach either can use Omkara.

Through this Ayatanam (established in one self) symbol, a person can get Aikyam with Aparam or Param Brahman.

How to reach Param or Aparam Brahman is now explained. Omkara Upasana is now detailed.

Shloka # 3:

Omkara Upasana is of three types.


  • Eka Matra Omkara Upasana or A kara is concentrated upon.
  • Next upasana is on A kara and U kara.
  • Third one is on A, U and M Karas.


  • First Upasana leads to Manushya Loka or Bhu Loka.
  • Second Upasana Leads to Pitra Loka or Bhuvar Loka.
  • Third Upasana Leads to Brahma Loka or Suvar Loka.
  • First Upana gets its phalam from Rig Veda Devata.
  • Second Upasana gets its phalam from Yajur Veda Devata.
  • Third Upsana gets its phalam from Sama Veda Devata.
  • A Kara is Vishva or Virat.
  • U Kara is Tejas or Hiranyagarbha.
  • M Kara is Pragyaha or Ishwara

If a person meditates on Eka Mantra Omkara, to what extent does hemeditate? He should meditate till he is completely absorbed in the Upasyam; only then he gets the phalam. Thus, if he meditates on say Rama, then Rama should be reached as Savikalpa Samadhi. It should then move to Nirvikalpa Samadhi. The Upasya Devata should be Sakshat Sara.

Sakshat Sara is Nirvikalpa Samadhi where in Upasya Upasaka Bheda does not exist. The phalam he will get is Rama or the Devata he meditate upon.

The Upasaka gets enlightened in the Upasya. Upasana includes all parts of Vedas except Vedanta.

Swamiji says, in Vedanta knowledge alone leads to moksha, not nirvikalpa or savikapla Samadhi. They are not part of Vedanta.

By this Upasana, the phalam is that he will be born again in this Loka as a Manushya. He can avoid lower Janma through A Kara Upasana immediately.

As per Rig Veda, the presiding deity of A Kara Upsana, it takes one to manusha loka within Bhu Loka. Bhu Loka has many other lokas as well.

Even as a Manushya, he will be born again as a Vaidic Manushya. He will be full of Tapas, Brahmacharya and Shradha. He enjoys the glory of Manushya Janma. If these three qualities are not there, life will not be enjoyable.

Problems do come to such a person, but his attitude insulates him from them. His Shradha helps him.

Shloka 4:

On the other hand if under Dvimatram a person meditates on both A kara and U kara then the phalam is Manas or intermediary world, also called Bhuvar or Soma Loka. Manas is Swapna Pradhana. Mind alone experiences dream. Dream is between waking and sleep state, hence called intermediary state.

Chandra Loka or Soma Loka belongs to Manas. By this meditation on A and U Kara one attains the intermediary world.

The Upasaka is taken to Soma Loka or Bhuvar Loka or Anthariksham, intermediate world, through the Yajur Devata who presides over U kara.

In Soma Loka (or Bhuvar, Antariksha, Pitra Loka) he enjoys the glories and powers as a Devata. Then he returns. For U kara, it is Krishna Gathi.

Shloka # 5:

On the other hand one who meditates on full Omkara (A, U and M) he attains Surya Loka or Tejas. This is also identified with Param Purusha or Saguna Ishwara. Sama Veda Devata takes the Upasaka to Brahma Loka. In Brahma Loka one is free from all papams.

Comparing the process to a snake shedding its skin, a snake gets freed from its skin without getting any wound. Right now papam sticks to us. But in Brahma Loka all sins are sloughed off.  Padodara (snake), just like a snake becomes free of its skin without effort, so also our papams drop away without effort.

All three Loka’s come under Aparam Brahman.

For Mukthi one has to perform Omkara Vichara (Not Sadhana). Then he comes to know Param Brahman as Parat Param. In short he comes to know Nirguna Brahma in Brahma Loka.

Thus, in this Loka, Omkara Upasana>Brahma Loka
In Brahma Loka, Omkara Vichara > Leads to Mukthi.

With this Omakara Upasana is concluded. Pippilada now quotes supporting shlokas from Brahmana Upanishad.

With best wishes,
Ram Ramaswamy