Tag Archives: Gita


Bhagwat Geeta, Class 171 – Chapter 13 Verses 12 and 13

Lord Krishna is dealing with the topic of jñānam from verses 8 to 12.  In this context jñānam means all the virtues of mind which are conducive to the attainment of knowledge.  In the 11th verse, Lord Krishna emphasizes the importance of Bhakti.  Jñānam is only possible with the bhakti.  Karma yoga, upasana yoga and […]

Bhagwat Geeta, Class 169 – Chapter 13 Verses 8 to 12

From verse 8 to 12, Krishna deals with jñānam which is those virtues that will make the mind fit for self-knowledge.  These virtues must be cultivated by everyone.  Gaining self-knowledge is relatively easy, but cultivating these virtues take time and effort.  These virtues are more important than vedantic studies.  We have seen the first three […]

Bhagwat Geeta, Class 168 – Chapter 13 Verses 8 to 12

In verses 2 to 7, Lord Krishna elaborates kṣetram and kṣetrajña.  These topics are also discussed in Chapter 2 as consciousness and matter principles. Verses 8 through 12 Humility, simplicity, non-violence, forbearance, uprightness, service to the   teacher, purity, steadfastness, self-control, detachment from sense objects, absence or egoism, constantly seeing the defect of identification with son, […]

Bhagwat Geeta, Class 167 – Chapter 13 Verses 5 to 8

In the beginning of 13th chapter, Arjuna asked for the clarification of six technical terms:  Of these six terms, Lord Krishna defines Kṣetram as the body which includes any object of experience in the creation and Kṣetrajña as the experiencer or the subject.  Now Krishna gives simple elaboration of these two words.  What is kṣetram, […]

Bhagwat Geeta, Class 166 – Chapter 13 Verses 3 and 4

Arjuna asked for the clarification of six technical terms.  The six terms are: Prakriti Purusha, kṣetram, kṣetrajña   jñeyam. jñānam Lord Krishna takes up the two words kṣetram and kṣetrajña.  The word kṣetram means the entire objective universe experienced by us.  It includes the world, the body and mind.  Among these three, the world is […]

Bhagwat Geeta, Class 165 – Chapter 13 Verses 1 and 2

In the 12th chapter makes the end of madhyama śatakam of Bhagavat Gita.  Each śatakam consists of six chapters.  The three śatakam and the topics highlighted are: Prathama śatakam:  First part of Gita (First to 6th Chapter); Topics: Jiva swaroopam, Karma yoga, Importance of individual effort or prayarthana.  Everything is not pre-determined; we also have […]

Bhagwat Geeta, Class 164 – Chapter 12 Bhakti Yoga Summary

The 12th chapter is Culmination of middle section of Bagawad Gita, called madhyama śatakam.  Bhakti or love or devotion is possible only towards someone who is known.  Out attitude towards God will also depend on our knowledge of God.  Knowledge alone can contribute towards a healthy attitude.  Five chapters are devoted to give knowledge of […]

Bhagwat Geeta, Class 163 – Chapter 12 Bhakti Yoga Verses 17 to 20

In the second part of the 12th chapter, beginning of 13th verse, Lord Krishna talked about the highest bhakta who has gone through all the five levels of bhakti yoga.  This bhakta will necessarily be jñāni.  This Jñāni is sthira pragya.  Jñāni’s source of love is himself.  He is efficient in all situations and takes […]

Bhagwat Geeta, Class 162 – Chapter 12 Bhakti Yoga Verses 15 and 16

After talking about the five stages of bhakti yoga, Lord Krishna is talking about a person who has successfully gone through all five stages and therefore he is the highest bhakta who is para bhakta or advaida bhakta or jñāni bhakta or one who has jivan mukthi. Moksha is not a benefit which we get […]

Bhagwat Geeta, Class 161 – Chapter 12 Bhakti Yoga Verse 15

In the second part of the 12th Chapter, Lord Krishna talks about the characteristics of highest bhakta, the one who has completed all five levels of bhakti yoga or who is a jñāni. What are the characteristics of such a bhakta?  That is the topic for now. This bhakta has understood that he is not […]